LAUNCH Demo Day 2018

20th Anniversary // Venmo Co-President Keynote // Partnerships with a16z, The House, 500 Startups

Demo Day Results

Grand Prize Winner: Data Agora

Runner Up: Jobwell

Third Prize Winner: Medinas

Press Release:

UC Berkeley’s Student-Led Startup Accelerator LAUNCH Announces Winners at 20th Annual Demo Day


11:00am – 1:00pm: Semi-finals — 23 startups remain (Chou Hall)

4:00 – 5:15pm: Startup Expo (Bank of America Forum)

5:15 – 8:00pm: Demo Day Finals & Awards Ceremony — 10 startups remain (Andersen Auditorium)

8:00+: Casual Happy Hour (Freehouse)


What’s LAUNCH? Headquartered at Berkeley, LAUNCH is a non-profit accelerator for early-stage startups from across the UC system. Our most notable alum is TubeMogul (acquired by Adobe for $540M) and each year LAUNCH sends several companies onto Y Combinator, 500 Startups, and other top accelerators.

This year LAUNCH has assembled 23 promising startups across a variety of industries, including blockchain, healthcare, space tech, and much more. (learn more here). 

LAUNCH’s annual Demo Day is the culmination of 3 months hard work by the startups as they have developed their businesses through an intensive curriculum program. The Startup Expo allows guests to mingle with founders and learn more ahead of the Finals and Awards Ceremony. LAUNCH startups will be pitching to an audience of investors, entrepreneurs and industry experts, as well as guests from across Berkeley and beyond. The teams will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Attractiveness of the business model
  • Quality of product(s), service(s) and/or solution(s)
  • Market opportunity and competitive positioning
  • Team qualifications and experience
  • Overall attractiveness of the venture

Winners will receive $40,000 in non-dilutive funding, and interviews with top-tier investors like Andreessen Horowitz, The House, and 500 Startups

HYPE VIDEO (2016 Edition)

To read about past LAUNCH finals events and winners (2012-2016), please click here.

To read about past Bplan finals events and winners (1999-2011), please click here.